5.—Duration and Sessions of Parliaments, 1936-52

Nors.—Similar information for the 1st to the 12th Parliaments, covering the period from Confederation to 1917, will be found at p. 46 of the 1940 Year Book; and that for the 13th to 17th Parliaments at p. 53 of the 1945 edition.

Order of Parliament	Session	Date of Opening	Date of Prorogation	Days of Session	Sitting Days of House of Commons	Date of Election, Writs Returnable, Dissolution, and Length of Parliament ¹ , ²
18th Parliament.	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	Feb. 6, 1936 Jan. 14, 1937 Jan. 27, 1938 Jan. 12, 1939 Sept. 7, 1939 Jan. 25, 1940	June 23, 1936 Apr. 10, 1937 July 1, 1938 June 3, 1939 Sept. 13, 1939 Jan. 25, 1940	139 87 156 143 7 1	91 62 102 103 6 1	Oct. 14, 1935 ³ Nov. 9, 1935 ⁴ Jan. 25, 1940 ⁶ 4 y., 2 m., 16 d.
19th Parliament ⁶ .	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	May 16, 1940 Nov. 7, 1940 Jan. 22, 1942 Jan. 28, 1943 Jan. 27, 1944 Mar. 19, 1945	Nov. 5, 1940 Jan. 21, 1942 Jan. 27, 1943 Jan. 26, 1944 Jan. 31, 1945 Apr. 16, 1945	174 441 371 364 371 29	61 105 124 120 136 19	Mar. 26, 1940 ³ Apr. 17, 1940 ⁴ Apr. 16, 1945 ⁵ 5 y.
20th Parliament	lst 2nd 3rd 4th 5th	Sept. 6, 1945 Mar. 14, 1946 Jan. 30, 1947 Dec. 5, 1947 Jan. 26, 1949	Dec. 18, 1945 Aug. 31, 1946 July 17, 1947 June 30, 1948 Apr. 30, 1949	104 171 169 209 95	76 118 115 119 59	June 11, 1945 ³ Aug. 9, 1945 ⁴ Apr. 30, 1949 ⁵ 3 y., 8 m., 22 d.
21st Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	Sept. 15, 1949 Feb. 16, 1950 Aug. 29, 1950 Jan. 30, 1951 Oct. 9, 1951 Feb. 28, 1952	Dec. 10, 1949 June 30, 1950 Jan. 29, 1951 Oct. 9, 1951 Dec. 29, 1951	87 135 154 253 82 —	64 90 17 105 56 —	June 27, 1949 ³ Aug. 25, 1949 ⁴

¹ The ordinary legal limit of duration for each Parliament is five years. ² Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive (B.N.A. Act, Sect. 50). ³ Date of general election. ⁴ Writs returnable. ⁵ Dissolution of Parliament was kept in almost continuous session. When prorogation took place it was followed immediately by a new session. During long adjournments provision was made whereby the Speaker could reconvere Parliament before the date previously set for reassembly.

Subsection 2.—The Legislature

The Legislative Branch of government, consisting of the Senate and House of Commons, is responsible for the enactment of all legislation. Bills may originate in either the Senate or the House subject to the provisions of Sect. 53 of the British North America Act, 1867, which restricts to the House of Commons the introduction of Bills for the appropriation of any part of the public revenue or the imposition of any tax or impost. Bills must pass both Houses and receive the Royal Assent before becoming law. In practice most Public Bills originate in the House of Commons, although there has been a marked increase recently in the introduction of Public Bills in the Senate. For some years past, all Private Bills have originated in the Senate.

The Senate.—From an original membership of 72 at Confederation, the Senate, through the addition of new provinces and the general growth of population, now has 102 members, the latest change in representation having been made on the admission of Newfoundland to Confederation in 1949. The growth of representation in the Senate is traced in the 1940 Year Book, pp. 47-49, and is summarized by provinces in Table 6.